Absurd Delight picks from Sculpture by the Sea 2009

One of my favorite yearly art exhibits I’ve never been to is Sculpture by the Sea. I know nothing about it really except that I see pictures on the net every year. So I might as well blog about it like I know what I’m talking about.

lifesavers (Proving puns can be whimsical too) by Denise Pepper & Brook Zeligman

"lifesavers" (Proving puns can be whimsical too) by Denise Pepper & Brook Zeligman

Best of all you can take these sweet babies home for just $6,000! Compare that to the $32,000 for the framed picture frames at The Armory Show. And that wasn’t even anywhere near a beach!

Imag_ne by Emma Anna

"Imag_ne" by Emma Anna

Fabulous like scrabulous! Ok, it’s mainly cute. But it’s giant and it gets the job done at proving that your mind fills in gaps whether you like it or not. So I’ll call that clever!

A few more photos of giant pencils and beach themeed sculpted whimsy after the jump.

unplugged by Robert Yakenthou

"unplugged" by Robert Yakenthou

This one makes me want to be there in person. Is it really made out of drain rubber? And what is the chain attached to? Does it go all the way into the ocean?

line in the sand by John Hutchinson

"line in the sand" by John Hutchinson

I think I like this one for the crisp shadow it casts, or maybe because that goes well with the title? Also, how does it stay up?

See the full 2009 exhibit here.

BONUS: from 2006 Sculpture by the sea, my all time favorite sculpture I’ve never seen.

Ice Cream Man by The Glue Society

"Ice Cream Man" by The Glue Society

One Response to “Absurd Delight picks from Sculpture by the Sea 2009”

  1. Edward137521 Says:

    Hi
    If you liked the life savers the artist is my Partner and can be contacted on Brooke.zeligman@bigpond.com.

Leave a Reply

